For the love of crochet

Two weeks ago I posted about five crochet-alongs I have started and one that I will be starting today. Since writing that post, I have also started working on another project and acquired yarn for two more CALs

The post For the love of crochet first appeared on Shelly’s Stitches. If you’re not reading it there, you’re not getting the full experience! Click on over now!

 In stead of posting in the order in which I started working on the CALs, I am posting in the order of which day of the week updates are posted. We will start with Monday:

Hekel/Crochet Mandala CAL ~ weekly on a Monday morning

Facebook group

Recommended yarn is MoYa, which is South African, but I am using Drops Safran from Wool Warehouse with a 3mm hook (as opposed to 3.5mm)

This week saw the fifteenth installment of the pattern, while I managed to reach the end of part nine and make a start on part ten. I absolutely love this mandala, and I have had some lovely remarks on Instagram!

Hekel/Crochet Mandala CAL on Facebook - Part nine
Hekel/Crochet Mandala CAL on Facebook – Part nine

Friends Around the World CAL ~ weekly on a Tuesday

Facebook groupFacebook events ~ Blog

You may use whatever yarn you like for this CAL, so it’s great for stash-busting (which is what I’m doing!)

This crochet-along has just entered its fifth week. I have completed squares three and four (pictured below) and have started on block four. I love that each designer does two squares on consecutive weeks! I also love that some of the designs are from people who have not designed before, so this is a bit of a jump for them! I have to say that they are all doing exceptionally well, but I also have to have a bit of a moan: These crochet-alongs are provided for free. You do not have to pay to join in, or for the patterns. So why-oh-why must people moan about the squares having different final stitch counts? The Facebook group moderators have already said that there will be instructions for joining the squares, which will take into account the differing stitch counts. And yet, people continue to moan and be rude about it. Seriously, this is supposed to be an enjoyable experience for all. We are all working together on the same patterns at the same time and will all join our squares at the same time in the same way, so why must people be so negative on the group page? Would it kill them to hit like on someone else’s photo, or keep those belittling remarks to themselves. Quite frankly, I am sick of it. If you don’t like the way the squares are different, leave the CAL and the group! No one is holding a gun to your head to join in, so go and do something else!

Anyway, that’s enough moaning (although this particular moan should be applied to all crochet alongs and not just this one!) Here are my third and fourth blocks, designed by the talented Esther Dijkstra from It’s All In A Nutshell:

Friends Around the World CAL week three: Stephan by Esther Dijkstra
Friends Around the World CAL week three: Stephan by Esther Dijkstra
Friends Around The World Week Four: Vincent by Esther Dijkstra
Friends Around The World Week Four: Vincent by Esther Dijkstra

The Meadow CAL ~ weekly on a Monday or Tuesday morning

Facebook Group ~ Website ~ Info for getting started

Yarn is available from Wool Warehouse, but not in kits. Read the Info for getting started for how much of which colours you will need for this

We are now into week four of the Drops CAL, The Meadow. So far I have made fifteen squares (five each of three designs) and have started on the pattern that was released yesterday. I showed you weeks one and two in my last post, so here’s week three:

The Meadow CAL with Drops - Week three: Marigold
The Meadow CAL with Drops – Week three: Marigold

Frida’s Flowers CAL ~ fortnightly on a Tuesday morning

Stylecraft ~ Jane Crowfoot’s blog ~ kits on Deramores

I completed my eight pieces for this on Thursday (the day after my last post) and when I measured them, I realized that my tension had changed since I did the swatches, so I think I’m going to have to work the swatches again before I work this weeks’s installment, named Dahlia Bud. The patterns are so pretty! I want to work all of the CALs all at once, but this gets a little confusing, so I have been doing the ones that take longer first, then the ones that don’t take much time for me to complete. Here are my eight pieces:

Frida's Flowers designed by Jane Crowfoot for Stylecraft Yarns - week one: White Cosmos
Frida’s Flowers designed by Jane Crowfoot for Stylecraft Yarns – week one: White Cosmos

Last Dance on the Beach CAL ~ weekly on a Wednesday morning

Scheepjes website ~ Facebook – international group ~ Kits at Deramores

I have not yet started the first part of this CAL, which was launched today. I have done the tensions swatches though, and have had to use a 3.25mm hook to get the right size square. I have acquired two Under the Stars kits, and in stead of making two blankets, I am going to make one particularly large blanket. I will still be working double the number of squares each week. I am very excited to get to work on it – so I had better hurry up with this post so I can get on with it!

I will post photos as soon as I have some to share!

Mandala Madness ~ weekly on a Thursday evening

CCC Facebook Group ~ Helen Shrimpton’s blog ~ kits on Deramores

We have completed five parts of this fabulous mandala CAL and I eagerly anticipate part six’s publication tomorrow! I can’t get over how soft this yarn is! I am using the Colour Crafter kit (my budget cannot stretch any further unfortunately) and it is so hard to believe this yarn is acrylic! I am so chuffed with my progress so far:

Mandala Madness CAL designed by Helen Shrimpton from Crystals and Crochet - Week Five
Mandala Madness CAL designed by Helen Shrimpton from Crystals and Crochet – Week Five
Mandala Madness CAL by Helen Shrimpton - closer look at part five
Mandala Madness CAL by Helen Shrimpton – closer look at part five
Mandala Madness week five alternate view
Mandala Madness week five alternate view

On Monday we had some work done to the house and I was working on the Hekel/Crochet Mandala CAL but kept nodding off! So I decided to start a new project. Another one? I hear you ask. Yes, another one. It is not officially a CAL, but I am working it as one in that I will be working a few blocks each week until I finish it. It is a more relaxed schedule than the other CALs I am working on and it is easy to crochet, so it provides a little light relief from my hectic CAL schedule (which I am still itching to get back to!). Yesterday I posted the following photo on Instagram and asked if anyone would like to guess what it is. Unfortunately, I only received one comment, and that wasn’t a guess but an assertion that she would love to know what it is! Anyway, I can now reveal that it is Helen Shrimpton’s Rose of Avalon Blanket, which was designed for Deramores. You can pick up the pattern here and the kit here. I will be writing about the yarn for this project over the weekend, so stay tuned! Incidentally, I have no idea why they are separate purchases and the pattern not included with the kit. You would have to ask Deramores about that!

Rose of Avalon Blanket designed by Helen Shrimpton for Dramores
Rose of Avalon Blanket designed by Helen Shrimpton for Dramores

Although the CALs have now been over for quite some time, I am very happy to report that I have the yarn on its way to me for both Jane Crowfoot’s Lily Pond Blanket CAL with Stylecraft Yarns and Dedri Uys’ Sophie’s Universe. I am sure the latter needs no introduction, but I will say that ever since I found this project online last year, I have been desperate to take part in it myself. I also have my eye on the Sophie Loves Lilla Bjorn blanket for when I have finished all of these.

So to surmise, I am currently crocheting an awful lot of blankets, and have at least another three planned after they are completed! Wish me luck!!

