Welcome

New post on String for Brains:

Hello and welcome to String for Brains, a crochet journal of sorts. I have started reading Kathryn Vercillo‘s book, Hook to Heal and have decided to blog about my progress with the book and my journey through self-healing and finding my inner artist. I know she’s in there somewhere, but as I have “string for brains”, this may take some time!
I thought it might be fun to share a little background before I start working on the exercises in Kathryn’s book, so I will start with my crochet journey. I used to do a lot of cross stitch – I mean a lot of cross stitch. I was quite accomplished at the craft and took pride in my work. However, in 2010 we had to move house and I needed to do something a little more portable than cross stitch to cope with the stress. Yes, I know small cross stitch projects are indeed portable, but I was only working on large projects at the time and found small projects (the portable-sized small projects) irritating and pointless. I mean, I found my inner peace while crocheting large projects and it could take me a while to find it. With a much smaller project, I would probably finish it before I felt the relaxing calm that usually came with hours upon hours of work.

Read more on Blogger

2 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Hi Shelly,
    I started to crochet as a child (taught by my mum and my gran – thus approx. 37 years ago). A friend taught me to do cross stitch in 1997 and I did nothing but cross stitch for the next 17 years. February 2014 I came across crochet again and I’m re-hooked ever since (no more cross stitch either). It’s more fun than when I was a child as I can finally live my creativity, just like I wrote in my blog: I simply love the pleasure, the silent pride and bone-deep satisfaction of creating things with my own hands, watching these things come about and grow and turn out into something I can hardly believe I made it myself! And as to Kathryn Vercillo’s book (I read “Crochet Saved My Life”) I can only say that crochet helps me in my everlasting day-to-day battle (you never really get rid of a depression), it helps me keeping in good health.
    Happy crocheting,
    Marjan

    1. Hi Marjan
      Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to my post. I have also battled with depression for about twenty years and agree that it doesn’t just disappear! Crochet indeed helps to keep the depression demons at bay. I wish I had been taught how to crochet when I was a child, but alas I am trying to teach my mother – who has memory problems, which makes it very interesting to say the least!
      Happy crocheting
      Shelly

Comments are closed.