In Memorandum: Wink – A Creative Being

I have just read the very sad news that Wink took her own life last Friday. Wink has been a huge inspiration to me. It was after reading about her in Kathryn Vercillo’s Book “Crochet Saved My Life” that I sought diagnosis for Asperger Syndrome. She always seemed so happy and jolly online, always into new crochet projects, and this inspired me to get more involved with crochet-alongs.

Wink (Marinke Slump) will be very sadly missed by everyone, but I feel a huge gap in my life already, and not just as a fellow Aspie crochet nut.

Goodbye Wink. I guess in the end crochet just wasn’t enough for you.

4 thoughts on “In Memorandum: Wink – A Creative Being

  1. I truly can feel your pain,pain we all now share incommon…
    I did not know Wink personally only as a Great Writer,Designer,Blogger and Hooker…
    and what she shared with the rest of the crochet communities around the world ….
    I too am so very sorry for her Boyfriend,parents ,lil brother & sister,and all the family and True Friends she had,,,,
    But now it’s up to us all to now Celebrate What she loved the most,her creations,her writings and her love she showed us all on each and every blog and message she had typed!
    She’s probably crocheting God a very Bright and Cheerful Robe♡♡♡

    1. I like to think she is doing just that – as well as brightening angels with her mandalas 😇
      Thank you for your kind words

  2. I didn’t read that book, so I didn’t know she had Aspergers. My son has Aspergers, and apparently I probably do too. My husband thinks so, and so does one of my therapists. It’s strange finding out when you’re 40 that you are different than others even though you think you’re doing a good job at mostly being “normal”. Even though my “quirks” and “foot to mouth disease” happens a lot {okay – all the time} – it’s kinda traumatizing to find out that behind their hands people have always known you’re different, but love you anyways. It’s a struggle. I feel even more terrible that she gave up the fight. 😦

    1. I was 34 when I was diagnosed, and for me it was more of a revelation: so *that’s* why I do that! Of course the reality of living with AS is that it is indeed a struggle. However, I am blessed with an understanding Aspie husband, which lessens the struggle a bit.
      Thank you for your kind words 😇

Comments are closed.