Happy new year!

I hope you have all had a wonderful Christmas and new year and are feeling rested. We had a full house with the elder two back from work and university, and I managed to rip a muscle/tendon in my back on the 23rd, but Christmas was lovely.

I have now finished the DK acrylic version of my Scheepjes CAL blanket and I’m blocking the border – which is not easy with a ten by six foot blanket! I will post photos as soon as I have finished blocking. I haven’t yet started to join the squares on my 4ply cotton version as my mother-in-law asked me to crochet a baby blanket for her to give her new baby great-grandson. She was ever so upset that, with her sight going, she wasn’t able to crochet it herself. I am currently half-way through it and hope to complete it within the next week so that I can finish off my Scheepjes blanket and start my new year’s resolution.

My resolution for 2015 is to learn broomstick and hairpin lace, and then to start designing crochet clothes. I am very excited about this. I also hope to find time this year to teach myself lino cutting and how to spin my own yarn. Alongside all this learning, I plan to make myself a new coat, a shawl and a few jumpers and finish the Inside Crochet Mystery Blanket, which I will be giving to my brother and his girlfriend, who have just moved into a flat.

I think it would be safe to say that I am going to be very busy this coming year!

What do you have planned for this year? Will you be trying anything new?

