Inside Crochet v Simply Crochet: Where are the advanced crochet Patterns?!

As you know, I have been making a lot of Christmas gifts this year. Most of these have been from basic or beginner patterns because they are quicker, but some have been intermediate patterns. While I have been sat here today, I have started to think about more advanced crochet patterns and techniques, and the lack of magazines for this area. I subscribe to the two main crochet magazines available in the UK; Inside Crochet and Simply Crochet, and while I would consider the former to be the more advanced of the two, it does seem to focus more on intermediate rather than advanced patterns.

Don’t get me wrong, I love both magazines as they are. I like that SC keeps it simple and does feature a more advanced technique each issue, although the pattern given for said technique is intermediate, and the magazine as a whole is fun. I also like that IC is more serious, producing mainly intermediate patterns with some beginner stuff and an advanced technique most issues. I would not want either publication to change!

However, with new magazines finding their way to our newsstands each month, it would be nice if one (or more!) could be aimed at the advanced crocheter.

I know there are books for advanced techniques, and I have several of them, but they only seem to have one or two patterns for each technique. I want something I can really get my teeth into! I suppose, until this gaping hole in the market is filled, I will just have to master the techniques and design things myself!

How about you? Are you an advanced crocheter looking for more advanced patterns? What sort of patterns would you be looking for? Clothes? Homewares? Amigurumi? Menswear? Let me know in the comments below and I’ll get working on them in the new year!

